Upgrading the black pine

I’ve grown a black pine (Pinus Thunbergii) next to the garden entrance for four years untouched.  It was recently time to make it look like a citizen of the Japanese garden.

This took a lot of contemplation, consultation of The Journal of Japanese Gardening, and courageous cutting.

I can’t decide yet whether I made it better or ruined it.  I made one mistake I know of (broke off a top level branch on the left), and I’m sure many of which I’m ignorant.  I do know this is a many step, multiyear process.

Before

2009 04 09_2448

After

2009 04 19_2535 cropped

0 Responses to “Upgrading the black pine”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

